Assault Crimes In Plano, Texas: Why You Need An Attorney
An assault charge does not require physical contact; even an attempt to harm another person physically is assault. Attempting or threatening to use force and making the victim fearful that harm will take place is assault. If a deadly weapon was used to perpetrate the crime, you have committed aggravated assault. No injury is required. Most assault charges involve family members or romantic partners. Once the police are called, a minor incident can quickly escalate into a criminal case.
Carl David Ceder is an assault lawyer in Plano, Texas who has a proven record of representing people accused of assault crimes. Attorney Ceder is experienced with Texas assault law and knows how to effectively defend against them.
Texas Assault Laws
In Texas, assault is defined as:
- Intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly causing bodily injury to another.
- Intentionally or knowingly threatening another with imminent bodily injury.
- Intentionally or knowingly causing physical contact with another when you know or should reasonably believe that the other person will regard the contact as offensive.
According to the law, even if you just threaten to harm someone, you can be charged with assault, if the person was fearful of being harmed. Often, the police will arrest you even with very little evidence, if they don’t feel like you are cooperating by answering their questions. Rather than giving in and possibly unintentionally incriminating yourself by talking to the police, find yourself an aggressive assault crimes attorney to protect your rights in Plano, Texas.
Texas Felony Assault Charges
When you are charged with assault, that charge may become a third-degree felony, if the state can prove that you:
- Committed the assault against your spouse, significant other, or family member, and have a history of domestic violence.
- Were aware that the victim was a public servant carrying out official job duties.
- Knew that the victim was an on-duty security guard or an emergency services worker.
When Does Assault Become Aggravated Assault?
If you use a weapon for any purpose during an assault, you will be charged with aggravated assault, which is a second-degree felony. You will face up to 20 years in prison and/or a fine of as much as $10,000. If you use a weapon while assaulting a public official, an informant, a witness, or a domestic partner, the charges can become a first-degree felony, meaning a possible life sentence.
Ask Your Plano, TX Assault Crimes Attorney About Possible Defenses
If you committed an assault, there may be a defense that applies to your situation. In Texas, you are allowed to defend yourself. In that case, you committed assault but had a legal reason for it. If you were defending yourself or another from physical harm, a defense is available. If the assault was accidental or you were defending your own property, you also have a viable defense. Speak to a qualified assault lawyer in Plano, TX about the defenses you may present in your case.
Call For A Free Consultation