Some domestic violence cases are considered felonies under Texas law. If the accused has been convicted of domestic violence before, following domestic violence charges will be treated as felonies. If choking or strangulation is involved, it will also be a felony. Aggravated assault against a family member is a second-degree felony. When a person is convicted of two or more domestic violence charges within the span of a year, they can be charged with continuous violence against family.
If you have been accused of a domestic violence offense, reach out to an experienced Domestic Violence Lawyer. The expert lawyers at Ceder Law Firm will guide you through the court process, represent you, and mitigate any consequences. If you are located in or near Plano, TX, call (469) 900-0000 for a consultation.
What are the penalties for domestic assault in the state of Texas?
Domestic assault might fall into one of two categories: misdemeanor or felony.
A misdemeanor domestic assault charge is one that involves threats of harm or provocative or offensive contact. It carries a fine of up to $500. If the victim is injured the penalty increases to up to one year in jail and $4,000 fine.
If the accused has any prior domestic assault convictions or if the assault involved strangulation or suffocation, an assault involving injury is a third-degree felony. The penalty is two to ten years in prison and a fine of $10,000.
If you have been accused of or fallen victim to domestic violence, a Criminal Defense Attorney experienced in Family Violence Law can answer any and all of your questions. If you live in or near Plano, TX, call (469) 900-0000 to schedule a consultation.