What Paperwork Will I Have When I Am Released From Jail In A DWI Case?
Subsequently to and following the arrest, at some point, the police officer should read and provide you with a number of very important forms. After a DWI arrest in Texas, the police officer is required to provide you a written copy of what is known as the DIC-24 statutory warning. The DIC-24 statutory warning form is the paperwork that, legally speaking, is required because it serves to formally inform an individual that they have been arrested for a DWI and that a chemical specimen (which can either be breath or blood) specimen is being formally requested to determine your alcohol concentration. In Texas, another important form that should be given is the DIC-25, or “Notice of Suspension” or “Temporary Driving Permit Form.” If you refuse (which you should) the police officer generally will confiscate your driver’s license and give you the DIC 25, which is your temporary driving permit, and which effectively serves as your driver’s license temporarily. On it, there is a plethora of information. The exact paperwork you will need upon release from jail differs based on which jail you’re released. It will also differ depending on whether you consented or refused to give a chemical specimen.
In addition to the DIC 24 and/or the DIC 25 statutory paperwork, you probably will also have some bond paperwork given to you, possibly with a court date on it and also possibly a bond number associated with the criminal case. This generally should help track associated case or cause number and an accompanying court date. In Dallas County, you will not need to physically appear for your first court date if you have an attorney. Other counties in Texas, such as Collin County, doesn’t give you any court paperwork that will have information such as a cause number or a court date.
However, most counties in Texas may also give you paperwork that can outline certain bond conditions that you have to comply with. One of these is possibly having to meet periodically with a bond supervision officer through a pretrial supervision office, which could monitor compliance should the installation of an ignition interlock be required. However, all of these factors do entirely depend upon the county, the nature of the charge, and other facts such as if there are previous convictions. For example, usually with a DWI charge, where an individual as a previous conviction, it will usually be required for the installation of an ignition interlock as a condition of being released on bond.
When it comes to a DWI case in Texas, this will be discussed more in detail later, it is very important to note that there are two different aspects to the case. One is civil and one is criminal. The civil portion has everything to do with your license to drive and that’s all done through DPS. The criminal portion includes everything that happens at the county courthouse. They’re two totally different aspects and they really don’t have a lot of overlap. If you refuse to give a specimen or your consent and are above a 0.08, you are going to get the temporary driving permit. They will take your license and the permit says that your license will be suspended after a period of 40 days. If you do not request an administrative law revocation hearing, within 15 days, it says that at the bottom, your license will be suspended.
If you want to lean about the DWI Defense click here.
Call For A Free Consultation